Agnostic.com

7 2

Anyone here a psychotherapist?

This interests me alot. I hear that in order to become a psychotherapist you are required to go through the experience of therapy yourself. The idea of self anallysation and self improvement is something that I really want to undestand more. Can anyone recomend a book or 2 to get started. I have no educational background in psychology but it is something I want to learn about

RobH86 7 Feb 15

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Was; but there are many different kinds of psychotherapy - (which really just means help for the mind) there is Jungian -Person Centred Rogerian, Reichian, Co Counselling ,Transactional Ananlysis, Person Centred Creative Expressive Therapy, Hot tub rebirthing, rebirthing breathwork , and about 100 others I'd go to an alternative bookstore and browse and see what hooks your imagination it helps if you know what sort of therapy you'd like to engage in, like bodywork to release tension or ,thoughtful self analysis, or creative expression.

A psychoanalyst is a PhD level therapist with post graduate training in psychoanalysis including their own psychoanalysis. This is the only discipline where the practitioners are required to get their own therapy. Since you go 4-5x week for years, it is a field for the wealthy, by the wealthy. It is pretty uncommon these days.

No you don't have to go through psychotherapy yourself to be a therapist. You do have to get your Masters degree, plus supervised hours and a test to be a licensed therapist. Specifics vary from state to state.

Just looking into the idea of taking a course in it maybe at the open university

Have you considered becoming a combination analyst and therapist?