Agnostic.com

29 5

VERY FIRST ALBUM/45
Don't think I've scene this post before but what was the very first album/45 (yeah, I know, I'm old) you picked out and purchased with your own money? Seen a lot of music posts recently and it got me thinking. Mine? The Wild Cherry album with 'Play That Funky Music (White Boy). I was in 8th grade and at the time it was a pretty cool song. It hadn't become the cliche/joke that it is now.

kmdskit3 8 Feb 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

29 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Roxy music. Flesh and blood Album.

Wow, weren't you just little Miss Sophisticated!

My first album purchase was Van Halen's 1984. I remember clearly that I thought the record was skipping when the intro to Hot for Teacher started.

I was a sophomore in high school, 1971, when a record shop opened in my hometown. Albums were $3.33 apiece (for 33 1/3). I bought 3. James Taylor / Mudslide Slim and the Blue Horizon, Jethro Tull / Aqualung and Jeff Beck / Truth. Money well spent.

I miss going into record stores like I did when I was a kid. I could spend hours just going through the racks. The late 60s and 70s were the best time for record stores.

Aqualung my friend don't you start away uneasy
You poor old sod, you see it's only me

Puff the magic dragon. My mom finally the it away while I was at school because she said she couldn't listen to it one more time, lol!

I did the same thing with 'Monster Mash' . Drove my parents crazy playing it over and over until I left it out in the sun and it warped!

When I was a little kid I usually cried because that loser little Jackie Paper abandoned Puff.

I have never bought a 45 or a single as we call them here.

First album I bought was Trilogy by ELP.