Agnostic.com

21 3

What is your own opinion about the Law of Attraction?

I'm quite new to this, and I don't know if people have talked about this (more than likely they have) but when religious people say that prayer works, does anybody think it has anything to do with the Law of Attraction, and also the way they ask for things or "pray" for things?

oscar4jac 4 Mar 5

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

21 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

All prayer/law of attraction claims can be attributed to the law of averages.

And selective amnesia.

It's a way to focus yourself on your goals. I don't think there's anything mystical about it. It's simply knowing what you want and always working towards it. Just gets wrapped up in mumbo jumbo IMO

@blindbird Perhaps but most who believe in prayer and/or the law of attraction do see it in a mystical sense. I think most look at prayer as some sort of magic...say the words and it’ll happen, whatever “it” may be.

@polyananda not arguing that but it works for some people because it is something they can understand. Same with religion. Stuff like that is what you make of it. If it helps someone get through and deal with whichever mountain of crap they've been handed I'm all for it. I see no reason to strip people of something that helps them when it's doing no harm.

Prayer doesn't work. God doesn't exist, so there really isn't anything to answer the prayer. The Amish have an interesting take on prayer. They say pray for a good harvest then get up off your knees and pick up your hoe and get to work.

I had a computer business many years ago, the motto was "When attitude creates reality".
but in reality, I don't go for the law of attraction. However, chance favours the prepared mind.
And That’s All I’ve Got to Say About That!