Agnostic.com

26 8

Are you happier now?

For those who converted from religious to atheists, Are you happier now that you are a non believer?

MagicMark 3 Mar 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

26 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Yes, I very much so enjoy the pursuit of knowledge. I'm a scientist and despite what religious folks may claim, you really can't have both--religion and no science do not go hand in hand.

Mea Level 7 Mar 23, 2018

I never understood how anyone who does not take the genesis creation story serious can still be a christian. Without genesis the whole bible has no basis whatsoever. No original sin, no reason for Jesus to sacrifice himself to himself. It is very clear that evolution discredits genesis as does other sciences. Humans being poofed into existence in their current form (from dirt and ribs of all things), the sun not being created till after plant life etc.

@josh_is_exciting No. But I'll definitely look into it.

Christianity made my depression worse when I had it. The "God will take care of me mentality" made me gain 103 pounds. About mid way through my depression I final realized I was an atheist and because of this I needed to solve my own problems. Three years later I was no longer depressed and I currently lost 91 pounds of the 103 that I had gained. It took me one year to lose about 86 pounds.

I am definitely less anxious since I gave up the guilt and the fear of judgment and punishment.