Agnostic.com

15 1

When did you know?

When did you know that the religion you grew up in was not real?

Was there a specific event that caused the change or was it a gradual progression?

Fab 5 Mar 25

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

15 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

It was mostly a gradual thing for myself. I was raised Lutheran, going to church on Sundays, Wednesday confirmation classes, vacation bible school in the summer and Catholic church on major holidays when we would visit my mom's family. I was around 14 at one of the Wednesday classes when I asked a question. I don't even remember what the question was. My pastor's wife looked at me with an angry look and said "we don't question god!" That was the beginning. I started studying other religions. I even joined a coven for a bit. But the more I looked into it the more I saw it was all a lie.

Since I was born athiest, I continued to be athiest. Mom sent me to Sunday school to learn about religion, but I never took to it. Religion wasn't a thing we discussed in my family.

I think I knew at about 10, when I had an outburst and said, 'I don't believe in Santa, The Tooth Fairy, God or Jesus'. I got told that I had to believe in God and Jesus, but knew already that there was no logic in it. I knew for certain when I realised at 16 how cruel some people were and that 'God' let them be. No omnipresent being could bear letting innocent people (and animals) suffer like that, it just didn't make sense to me. Plus he created Lucifer/ Satan and so would have known how things would pan out. A silly story really.

When I was 4. I never believed it