Agnostic.com

14 19

Seeing this on FB tonight made me think about what I really want to know about people. I think a better question would be "tell me what you love." I think that is really more important.

HippieChick58 9 Aug 24

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

14 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Yes, indeed... "Hi . What's your real life look like?"

I guess I used to ask....and be asked about jobs/ work ( learned from my family !). I would rarely put forth what I do for a living before. Kind of embarrassed.
Now I let 'em know right away...."I'm a Roofer". Eliminates the snobs right away. The money is good, I work outside. Never a dull day. And besides, everyone else has a friggin' roofing story, problem or question.....but that's boring on their part, not mine.

"why, do strangers, talk only about the weather?" (Tom Waits)

twill Level 7 Sep 2, 2020

I remember watching roofers on an apartment complex roof on a windy day. I was in an office a few floors above them so I had a good view. Wow!! I am amazed they were out there in weather like that. Yes, never a dull day!

@HippieChick58 Ah-a! Another roofing story !

For some people asking what they do for a living would reveal what they love to do, but those individuals are either privileged or got lucky in the life lottery and were able to pull themselves up by their bootstraps; for the majority of people in the world, the profession is less choice-based.

For many years I worked at Walmart; I used to enjoy telling people I worked at Walmart -- they'd always ask, "What store?" The most biased people would typically stop talking to me after that and decent people would at least keep the conversation going long enough to find out what I did for Walmart. It was a good way to see who is who, for sure.