Agnostic.com

21 3

Reiki Anyone?

I'm curious as to people's thoughts on Reiki energy. First I should preface this with the information that I became a Reiki practitioner at least 18 years ago but really haven't used it much in 15 years. It's all about energy and using energy. And it is not the same as laying on of hands. Do you believe that we humans can sense energy and potentially use it? And I'm not even surecehat category to put this in.

AmelieMatisse 8 Apr 24

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

21 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

It's woo. I've been a licensed massage therapist specializing in neuromuscular deep tissue and it burns my biscuits when I see someone perform reiki and then proclaim some BS about I feel your lower intestines are blocked simply by hovering their hands over their body. Everyone's lower intestines are blocked because they have to take a shit. I use this as an example because I heard it yesterday from a woo master. No offense.

I'm certainly not offended by any of the comments. My feeling is that people are so in need of human connection and touch that they buy into it.

Well, humans can sense heat energy and use it to cook. There’s many more examples like that, I’m not going to try to list.

Pseudoscience

Nope. All the nope. I run away when folks start waving that around.