Agnostic.com

8 12

LINK Christian school bans student from prom for wearing suit instead of dress

Nashville Christian School said B Hayes violated their dress code. Somehow.

(Follow link to view PDFs that accompany article.)

On Saturday night, an 18-year-old high school senior named B Hayes (he/they, according to Instagram) went viral after standing outside the entrance to the Nashville Christian School prom with a sign reading, “They wouldn’t let me in because I’m in a suit.”

my name is B Hayes. im 18 years old and i’ve been attending Nashville Christian School for 13 years. my senior prom was today and i wasn’t allowed in the doors because i was wearing a suit. i should not have to conform to femininity to attend my senior prom. i will not compromise who i am to fit in a box. who are you to tell us what it means to be a woman?

It’s a heartbreaking way to spend what’s meant to be a pinnacle of your senior year.

But at least one aspect of the story felt strange to me at first: Was the dress code a surprise to B? It seemed more likely that this was the expected outcome, which would explain the pre-made sign, rather than an unpleasant surprise B discovered at the entrance.

That turned out to be the case. B was apparently told in advance the school would not allow them in without a dress. The sign was part of a planned protest. (And an effective one, given the reach of the picture.)

Even so, why did the school object to B’s suit? Setting aside the desire to “conform to femininity,” a pantsuit shows far less skin than most prom dresses. School officials should’ve appreciated the modesty.

But assuming all this is accurate, we all know why they did it. Christian schools are notorious for demanding that students conform to gender stereotypes, going overboard if anything seems remotely scandalous. And they always have strict dress codes. (In 2015, a different Christian prom kicked out a male student for wearing a kilt.)