Agnostic.com

9 1

Firebrand atheists

I have been thinking about where do I belong in the atheist community am I soft sided or a firebrand but more that I think about it I think I may identify as a firebrand I’m still rather new in my journey is there anyone that can help me to find out where I fit?

AJimboShep82 7 June 2

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I've been an outspoken atheist for many decades and have never encountered the "Firebrand atheist" term.

My position is I care about truth (things that can be demonstrated) over faith (belief without evidence) As there is no evidence for a god, the positive burden of proof has not been met by theists and as I am not a theist, I am an a (not) theist.

Do I actively debate theists, occasionally causing them to cower like scared children and whimper like beaten dogs, Yes.

Have I de-converted a few - Yes.

Do I consider myself a "firebrand? After looking up the definition, I appear to fall within that parameter. [fuckthebible.wordpress.com]

It is not so much about the label itself but rather about what I stand for where I stand and an honest introspection of ones values and taking an honest inventory.

I'm fairly new to our journey as well. Take it one day at a time and hope for the best.

You do not have to label yourself but I'm a firebrand atheist and I have no trouble with that or David Silverman. If you beat around the bush people do not hear you so well.

You do you ... my opinion of where you fit in does not count. That's something you can only feel out for yourself.

There are no obligations involved in being an atheist ... it is just a lack of belief in deities, it's entirely definitional.