Agnostic.com

33 20

Have you noticed a decline in writing skills?

“I love Agnostic.com because of the intelligent, wise and funny posts,” I told an atheist friend four months ago. Since then, I have been shocked by poor writing in many posts.

Writing is a way to communicate your thoughts, feelings and opinions. It’s an essential skill in everyday life.

Many posts pose vague questions. Scratches head.

Obscure Acronyms. Often I ask what it means. Men get defensive. It's not worth asking.

For decades, American schools have not taught writing composition. As a college professor, I was shocked by students’ poor writing ability.

“It’s not just that students aren’t demonstrating critical thinking skills in their writing, basic competencies like proper syntax, spelling, and even proper structure like paragraph indentation and how to cite sources are being done very poorly,” college professor Azadeh Aalai, Ph.D. wrote in “Why Can’t College Students Write Anymore?” Psychology Today, Feb. 21, 2014.

Other reasons citied in studies are the rise of social media and the decline in reading books. This week I learned a new word, “anodyne,” from a Time magazine article on the wonderful Netflix series, “Queer Eyes, Season 2.” Anodyne means “anything that relives distress or pain.”

Like a carpenter studying how expert carpenters build, I learn good writing by reading great books. Reading also builds my vocabulary.

Since 2006, as a volunteer college mentor, I help students write essays for college and scholarship applications. These are excellent students. But they struggle with writing. I thought it was because English is their second language. They also aren’t learning writing skills in school.

So, I teach students writing and organization, to carry forward in college and life.

Your thoughts?

Here's my daughter, Claire, at five months, turning a page with her foot. We read to her from birth.