Agnostic.com

15 1

What are or were some of your favorite children's or YA books?

In no particular order, some of mine are:

The Little Prince
The Velveteen Rabbit
Horton Hears a Who
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Charlotte's Web
The Giving Tree
Harriet the Spy
Half Magic

bleurowz 8 Aug 11

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

15 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Did not have these just Snow White

When my age was in single digits I liked Tom Swift books, but then I graduated to Heinlein's juveniles. In 7th grade I was sick and read 32 Tom Swift books in one day.

The Lorax....

Danny Dunn books, Tom Swift stories.
Minn of the Mississippi by Holling C. Holling
Ray Bradbury, Robert Heinlein, Isaac Asimov.
This was all before the age of 10.

I grew up reading all the Nancy Drew mysteries and the Hardy Boys too.
I loved Trixie Belden books....and the Bobbsey Twins

Then there were the "Alfred Hitchcock presents the Three Investigators" series.....and I still have all of them.

Other than that, there were hundreds more by various authors.

Three favorites were:
The Witch Of BlackBird Pond
The Watching Eyes
Step on a Crack

My Side of the Mountain.
It's the story of a boy who runs away from NYC to his old family farm, now grown into forest. He learns to survive and thrive in the wild, with the help of the peregrine falcon he raises.

The Chronicles of Narnia.
The Little House on the Prairie book series (NOTHING like the silly TV series)
Harry Potter

The Tracker
True story of Tom Brown and his friend being trained by his friend's Apache grandfather since he was eight years old, to track anything, live and thrive on his own in the wild.

All the Robert A. Heinlein youth series, which I currently own on Kindle.