Agnostic.com

20 5

First encounter

How was your first encounter and experience defending your non belief to a theist?

Tori 4 Jan 30

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

20 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

As I live far from family and in a country that does not give a s"" about religion, I am not confronted that much, but from time to time one of those door to door preachers come to me and it is fun, they are really not prepared for an intelectual discussion and just use appeal to emotion arguments. I like to see the arguments imploding and he resorting to "well each one should believe in what he wants" and run away with some doubts in mind =)

It was the only fight I ever won with my wife. I had been an atheist all of our 16 year marriage but I had kept that to myself, I studied the Bible constantly finding it flaws. People came to me with Bible questions and I gave them the answers they wanted...Not my opinion.
One day when my son was in the 7th grade he said "ooh my God" in class. The teacher said "you are a Christian don't say that. He responded "I'm an atheist" and was sent to the principles office. Once I drilled him to find out if he really was I confessed to him and my wife that I was. ( I did have many words with the school and they apologized)

She was a Christian and started in with all the typical stuff, I thought that I could just do anything, I had no morals, etc. I told her. " I am the same man that you have been married to for 16 years, the only thing that has changed from five minutes ago is now you know I don't actually believe in a God." Conversation over.