Agnostic.com

40 12

How well do you listen actively?

The Chinese symbol for listening consists of five separate symbols: ears, eyes, mind, heart, and undivided attention. Using that as a basis, how well do you listen?

EllenDale 7 Feb 28

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

40 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm sorry what was the question?

Wiseacre!

@LadyAlyxandrea lol

Before my wife left me she said: "you never listen to me."… At least that is what I think she said.

I'm the best listener I've ever met.

It comes from 15-20 years of being too shy to talk and therefore doing nothing but listening. And being smart enough to take full advantage of whatever opportunity presents itself.

@stinkeye_a That was my beginning--shyness led to listening and watching. Then I studied it.

I can relate to this. I was shy when I was younger so I wouldn't talk much, but I did listen and pay attention. When I went out with my friends, they would go dance and I would watch, or should I say study, people. Now, I listen but also participate in the conversation more.

Imagine if you and another champion listener tried to have a conversation. There would be some kind of anti-noise feedback loop that might vacuum up every sound in the universe! It would be quietly, attentively awesome.

I'm usually pretty good at listening, but there are times my mind wanders. When my father retells something that happened to him and his story takes longer than the actual events, I find it awfully hard to stay focused.

keep off the weed or smoke more

@resserts Try mindfulness to improve your focus (undivided attention).

Sorry, what was the question...?