Agnostic.com

16 3

Glasses: Help Me Out Folks, I'm new at this.

So, I'm at the stage with my eyesight, that I've picked up some weak over-the-counter reading glasses. I use them primarily at work, when I'm reading small print, working on the computer, or writing out a bill or message.

In the morning, I can glance from the computer screen to a piece of paper on my desk no problem, but if I glance at say... the calendar on the wall, it's blurry. By about noon, I can look at the calendar without it being blurry. Note - I seem to have a constant light headache.
Needless to say, once I get up from my desk, I have to take my glasses off, or navigate a blurry world. When I initially take them off my eyes are way out of focus and takes them a moment to adjusts - a little bit of vertigo too.

*My questions for anyone who cares to read this far are😘
Is this normal? Do I just have to accept this as a new reality? Am I doing something wrong, or is there something I'm not doing that I should be doing?
Also, I heard someone say to not use glasses for as long as you can, because once you start, it quickens the process... Is that true??

scurry 9 Mar 15

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

16 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Properly fitted glasses can reduce eye strain. In some situations, prescription glasses can correct eye problems. OTC glasses are good for improving some reading tasks. I consider my eyes important enough to me that I prefer professional help in taking good care of them. But remember. as in any therapeutic process, it is a team effort using the professional assistance with the patient leading the effort.

Agreed! Well said.