Agnostic.com

14 1

How do you meet people?

I have never had a girlfriend and have no close friends because I don't know how to do this, and dating sites haven't worked for me

crookedrain94 3 Mar 16

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

14 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

You have to hang out where people are. Go to school, meetup.com, find common interest with other people. Growing your network helps you communicate better.

I have a certain confidence but I am different than the average Joe. When it comes to movies, music, and TV I have to know names. I'm sort of a self taught historian and I have studied many things. Once I was a walking encyclopedia.This doesn't interest anyone today as language and times have changed. I'm not giving a damn about eating Tide, and I had to look up "gaslighting" to see what it meant. I'm an imperfect self educated dinosaur. I don't dance well and I no longer hang out at bars. It's a big waste of time.

Getting someone to come over to my place for a Netflix evening would be great. I'm not even sure today how you do that. I'm at a stage where I really do not know what I want out of life.

I’ve a longtime friend in the same situation who seeks my advice... I asked a more successful friend on his account, she suggested he pursue a group activity he enjoys, thus meeting like-minded people..

Problem is, my friend discounts his abilities and attributes to the point he undercuts his confidence ..thus removing himself from opportunities faster than he can get into them.. Then asks for more advice… If I suggest he ignore those fears, he’ll argue to convince me how crippling they are.. Online dating hasn’t worked for him, either.