Agnostic.com

15 4

Does anyone else find that as a non-believer in an all powerful beings, it's very difficult for me to be a fan (fanatical belief in someone's or somethings abilities) or a worshipper of people? I may admire individual accomplishments, but am deeply aware that as humans, they are prone to mistakes and misteps just like anyone else. Does that sound jaded? I just don't put them on a pedestal.

Barnie2years 8 Mar 18

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

15 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

From 2000-2010, I worked as an "Extra" in films, movies and commercials. For thos ewho dont' know, and Extra is one of those peopel who are in teh background or in the room who never say anything, but are just there to create "atmosphere" for the scene. Before anyone gets any ideas aobut pusuing that kidn of job, the pay is not enough to live on, and the work is nto easy to get, so don't 'run off to Hollywood. Trust me. Some people in the entertainment industry are crazy (very messed up emotionally with a very warped perception of reality).

Anyway, I met a few "celebrities" and saw many many more. i ws nto really all the impressed, and did not really think they deserved the worship many of them received. They were all just people.

In my mind talent does not really make a person worthy of respect, but it is how they treat other people. I just cant' admire somoen who treats others like they are shit... You can respect power without having any respect for the person who holds it.