Agnostic.com

27 4

Ever done things to please others?

Have you ever done something against your will or better judgement because someone asked you to? Something dangerous or embarrassing simply because they wanted you to? How'd it work out for you?

jamessmithwick 6 Mar 30

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

27 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I could fill this fucking post up if I answered truthfully and thoroughly... 😟

This is an painful question for people like me who are adult children of alcoholics. I became the Family Hero: responsible, achiever, independent, leader, organized. A people pleaser. Inside I felt painfully insecure and inferior.

"I got a master degree to prove to my dead father that I'm smart," I joked in my 30's. Humor, the great deflector.

"I am a recovering perfectionist," I say. Still have pockets of perfectionism, like sewing. I learned to say no. At last I say "Ouch" when somone says something hurtful. Sometimes I take on too much because I didn't say no.

Now I say clearly what I want and need. Set clear boundaries. I am green and growing.

Yes. I am a recovering doormat.

@goldenvalleyguy i took their likes to be their way of saying they relate.

@goldenvalleyguy working on it🙂

My entire life, but i have recently taken a big step in a better direction and i am proud of me!

I can't give any examples but I know I have. I have also learned to be more confident amd assertive. It's a work in progress.

I used to be a people pleaser. I'm trying not to be. It's hard. I hate it.

@Katastrophe1969 Thanks.

I was married to a narcissist sociopath. He often manipulated me into violating my boundaries and sacrificing my well-being for his benefit. It was a lot of years of misery.