Agnostic.com

50 5

Is there intelligent life out there in the universe?

As a science fiction author I like to dream about possibilities that we have yet to discover. One of those is the possibility for intelligent life in the universe beyond our planet. Curious what others think about the subject.

ChrisJones 6 Apr 3

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

50 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Sometimes I wonder if there is intelligent life on this planet .

I'm beginning to wonder if there is intelligent life down here.

8247B Level 4 Apr 3, 2018

Yes And you can tell because they don't visit here.

BillF Level 7 Apr 3, 2018

That’s funny! But there may very well be truth in that.

Ha , That's a new 'twist' to it I haven't seen before

I think, given the vastness of the univerese, that it is highly likely, if not downright inevitable, that there is other intelligent life. And, also given the vastness of the universe, it is highly unlikely that we will ever make contact with other life forms. However, this does not mean that we will not find evidence of some sort of life, either past or present, on other planets, asteroids, or moons. I think this will happen; and I hope it happens in my lifetime.

If there is anything close to human form out there they are so advanced they would see us as a primitive society.

I think we are a primitive society.

I think it's incredibly arrogant to believe we're the only "intelligent" life out there.

I'm a strong believer in the Drake equation.
Given a nearly infinite number of stars, it's almost inevitable.

JimG Level 8 Apr 3, 2018

I hope so. We could use the help.

There are so many stars with planets that I think statistically there may be life out there in space.