Agnostic.com

8 2

Are there any atheist's or agnostics out there like me who enjoy gospel music. I think the song" People get Ready" By the Impressions is one of the all time greats. And the great Bob Marley was a rasta who sang a lot about Jah Rastafarie.

nowhereman55 7 Nov 26

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

8 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm a musician. Music has no religion, music IS my religion. I guess that makes me a humanist. Music is usually a part of worship. A lot of classical music was written for the church. They could afford to support the musicians, composers and house the pipe organs and bell towers.

I used to play with a partner. I found it funny that the first thing we ever played on stage together was "Dear God" by XTC, and 10 years later, the last thing we played on stage together in our original incarnation was "My Sweet Lord" by George Harrison.

I was a Christian Radio DJ in the early 80's. I do like a lot of the music even if the message really is irrelevant to me now. This one always stuck with me as one of the most beautiful compositions I've ever heard.

Duke Level 8 Dec 19, 2017

I like gospel music and hymns

I still like what I like. A lot of tunes for christian songs were lifted from older secular music, with religious lyrics added, anyway. I tend to be a tune person, so I guess it makes sense.

Zster Level 8 Nov 26, 2017

I grew up on Christian music, and there are still artists that I enjoy, even to this day. Not gospel though. That was never one of my choices. But bands like Second Chapter, Petra, Steve Taylor, I still listen to from time to time.