Agnostic.com

28 5

Do more non-believers view life as a painful, unpleasant experience?

A few weeks back I posted on the topic of suicide, and it had a lot of responses. Since then I've seen a few more pop up on that same topic, and I'm sure a few posted before my post and all of them got a tremendous response. Suicide seems to be a hot topic, and a disturbing number of people here seem strangely carefree with ending their lives. This ambivalence towards life has me concerned.

• 4 votes
  • 39 votes
  • 9 votes
  • 1 vote
  • 2 votes
  • 4 votes
paul1967 8 Apr 14

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

28 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I work in the healthcare field and I sometimes see patients with terminal illnesses suffer with relentless pain, I would want the option of euthanasia if I was ever in that position, but I've been fortunate enough so far to have not have any life experiences to cause me to attempt or consider suicide.

Quite straightforward - why would anyone want to extend their life once they have had enough? I think anyone over the age of 75 should be able to end their own life in a painless and dignified way with medical assistance with no argument. For people younger than that, if they have a terminal disease or a life-limiting condition, I think they should have the option, too. Other people who want to end their lives should have to talk to someone about it first, to see if their lives could be improved in some way to enable them to go on longer, but if not, then why shouldn't they end their lives, too?

I don’t see the need for all the hoop-jumping and nonsense.

If it’s truly your right, then it’s your right.

Have a coffee, take a smoke, kill yourself.

It’s your life.
Your decision.