Agnostic.com

28 2

Is it important for you to think that you have contributed in some small way to the benefit of society?

Does it make a difference one way or the other?

atheist 8 Apr 21

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

28 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I grew up immersed in community where that was just part of the culture. My parents were activists in the Civil Rights Movement. There are 5 of us kids: two librarians, one teacher, a PT and a nurse, all of us in service positions.
How can one breathe the air, enjoy the natural resources, be alive without paying it forward?

@atheist Because nurses get shit on. I love my job but I'm a case manager not a floor nurse. If I based my self esteem on my career, well... nurses are to blame ( convenient scapegoats) for everything that goes wrong...I'd be unhappy, too. But I guess the job is satisfying, great benefits and I've infused my life and relationships with meaning and purpose that it's hard to find in a career.
I almost think we should start a nurse group. Do you want to talk more? Feel free to PM me.

Wonderful!

@CandyWorner, are you self-identifying as another demoralized nurse by profession? lol

That might be the name of our group 'Demoralized Nurse by Profession'. If we're to be a group, we should put out suggestions and vote on a name.

@atheist it was just chatter...

No, not at all.