Agnostic.com

18 5

I pose a broad question.
What is a god?

Humans all over the world have gods, but due to cultural differences the design of a god differs markedly. Here are some examples.
Some cultures have man-gods and god-men. Physical entities where a person is born or promoted to being a deity.
There is all powerful singular god that is everything.
There are near-all powerful versions which constantly battle a not-god or devil.
Pantheons of gods with varying powers and jobs, local gods for local people.

Sofabeast 7 Aug 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

18 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I am a filmmaker by trade (and one in real life too! lol) so I am very intimate with not only suspension of disbelief (temporarily allow oneself to believe something that isn't true, especially in order to enjoy a work of fiction) but how to accomplish this state of mind with an audience.

This being stated, in the motion picture community we refer to 'flicker frquency' or the rate at which still pictures pass in front of our eyes and our brains interpret the content of the pictures as being in motion.

This is important because, it demonstrates that our brains don't like 'missing' information. So much so, that our brains will actually fill in missing pices of information to create comprehension. Our entire big brain evolution as homo sapien sapiens is centered around pattern recognition; celestial bodies for agriculture to hypothesis for the scientific method, all pattern recognition.