Agnostic.com

21 17

Stigma of Working in the Gig Economy. Your thoughts?

Yesterday I received a message from a 60-year-old man on Fitness Singles. I told him I’m dating Dave who lives in Leavenworth, and only date one man at a time. I asked what his experience has been with online dating.

Julio is a first-generation Cuban-American, born in the U.S. His parents immigrated from Cuba.

“It’s been discouraging,” Julio said. “Even independent women expect me to take care of them financially. It’s surprising.”

"For 15 years, I was a project manager for Nokia in Dallas, Texas that went belly-up," he explained. "My ex-wife moved with my 17-year-old daughter to Seattle. I followed to be close to my daughter. I applied for project manager positions at Seattle tech companies like Microsoft. They essentially said I’m too old. Now I’m working as a driver for Lyft and Uber.”

Julio's working in the gig economy shows his resilience. He is helping support one daughter in college and another in high school.

“Americans expect successful people, especially men, to have a constant upward trajectory,” I replied. “That’s why women are taken aback and put off when you explain you work for the gig economy. They don’t understand.”

“What are you doing here?” people asked, shocked. I was working at Macy’s department store after the health food store I managed was sold in 2003.

“Surviving,” I replied, smiling bravely. But I felt ashamed.

In the American Midwest, millions of people lost manufacturing jobs when companies moved jobs offshore for cheaper labor. You'd think people would have more understanding and compassion.

LiterateHiker 9 Sep 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

21 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.