Agnostic.com

14 26

Taking personal responsibility instead of blaming others. Your thoughts?

"I can't believe how many people my age don't take personal responsibility and blame others for their problems," my daughter Claire said at 25. "They get fired repeatedly. Their parents constantly bail them out financially."

"How long have your dad and I taught you personal responsibility?" I asked. "Since birth," she groaned. We laughed. My daughter, the comic.

Today I helped Dennise, the girl I'm mentoring, write an essay on leadership for the Washington State Opportunity Scholarship.

"As an introvert, I am a quiet leader. I lead by example. This year, I am mentoring 20 students as a group: an entire Algebra 1 class. I make sure they can properly solve the problems they're given by explaining them so they can be approached from different directions. I have been a Freshman orientation leader for the past two years. I help make the transition from middle school to high school smoother and less scary. I show them how to find their classes, where to get help, dealing with high school culture, etc. I am inspiring my younger cousins and neighbor kids to get good grades, stay in school, and go to college.

"The only person I can change and control is myself. Music education and performance have sculpted me into a responsible young woman. Late nights refining my part for orchestra rehearsals taught me not to my settle for a product that I am not proud of presenting to the world. Playing in an orchestra and small ensembles trained me to work well as a harmonic team. The thrilling accomplishment of performance proves that all the discipline and preparation leading to that point have been worth it. I believe this applies to all education. This perseverance will be invaluable throughout my life.