Agnostic.com

34 11

I'm a college professor and for the past 10 years, I've noticed and my colleagues have as well, that way too many of our students seem to be incapable of doing the simplest of assignments. Perhaps the biggest problem today's students have is meeting deadlines and accomplishing tasks on time. It's very disconcerting given that the young will eventually grow up and run the nursing home I'll be admitted to. I'm fearful that they'll just machine gun old people to death because they sure as hell aren't developing any skills while in college. And you can bet your ass the America's status a global superpower will end in like the next 10 years.

KBJ41 4 Feb 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

34 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I read a really interesting article about how many Millenials have spent every minute of their lives planned and supervised, so they only begin to learn at 18 things that those of us who came before learned over years of childhood. my take is that this is worse among the more privileged of the generation. My son is 19, independent and responsible, so they aren’t all like that!.

@Akfishlady I think it is a LOT different. Social norms, peer pressure, and hormones well of course, we all go through that at that age. But @KBJ41 's post said 'incapable' of completing assignments, and that is a far cry from being hormonely distracted or doing things that every generation has done. Tell me if I'm wrong KBJ...