Agnostic.com

40 13

What is the meaning of life?

I discuss this question in my new book "Savng Gaia". How do humans save the planet? What needs to be done? The main problem to be addressed is mankind's antropocentricism, placing humans at the center of everything. As a former biology teacher, I can safely say, humans are just another animal and we better learn that fast as Gaia is approaching the tipping point. We are in the Holocene Extinction and more than half of all vertebrates from the time I was born, I'm 74, are gone forever.

As far as the meaning of life goes, let's take the advice of the great physicist Niels Bohr. There is no meaning to life. What purpose or meaning can the universe have when everything winds up in a black hole. The universe just is. Humans have to give it meannig.

Aristopus 7 Mar 11

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

40 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

For me, the purpose of life is to live, to experience life as a gift and our habitat as a great gift that not only makes life possible but is the greatest beauty, To not appreciate all of this leads to a low quality of life and damage to the planet. We have no right to assume that human life is the only life that matters. To kill animals for fun, to torture livestock animals is a horrendous sin practiced by many religious people. Not to be taking steps to preserve our environment is a grossly stupid sin perpertrated by greedy corporations and congressmen on the take all of whom go to church.
That said, I had a deja vu in which I felt, saw, and now know that the energy that connects all life is love. Lately, I was happy to see a clip where Einstein said the same thing.