Agnostic.com

19 1

What do Atheist think about reincarnation?

Is it a pseudo-science? I do realize that this can’t be proven but I’m just curious of what seasoned atheist think. I’m still kind of new to atheism.

Atheist_chick 5 Feb 25

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

19 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

YO! This is the SCIENCE forum/group.

As a Buddhist, I think it's bunk.

I believe when you die you die. There's no divine reprieve in any form. Without a (nonexistent) deity or a (nonexistent) soul, there is no mechanism to allow for a dead person to live again. Even if it were possible, without your memories, experience, and knowledge your reincarnated self wouldn't be you. It just seems pointless.

JimG Level 8 Feb 26, 2020

That's a dead subject.......LOL

I have yet to encounter anyone who can provide science in support of the idea of reincarnation. That being the case, it is difficult to suggest that it is anything more than fear of death manifesting in another form. Until there is evidence and/or science that applies specifically to the issue, for me it remains in the realm of another layer of woo.

I do not dismiss the life work of Ian Stevenson out of hand. Some things are simply mysteries and no one knows the answer.

I feel that our sense of self as a separate person in a body is an illusion, and that if you share memories with a person now dead, that is also illusional. It wouldn’t mean that you ARE that person.

Out true essence is something else.

Evidence exists for The Easter Bunny and Santa Claus. I have never found evidence for reincarnation.

I seen em!!!

My progression was as follows.
I want to believe in life after death because I can't imagine what it would be like to not be alive.