Agnostic.com

36 6

Death from an Agnostic/Atheist perspective

Today is the 3rd anniversary of my Grandmas death. As an Agnostic Atheist I feel like I don't know how mourn her. Where do Agnostics/Atheists believe we go when we die? (Sorry I'm new to this)

AtheistLJ 5 Mar 30

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

36 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm an atheist. I don't believe we "go" anywhere when we die. When we die, that's it.
There is nothing else.
There are no rules for mourning loved ones.
My maternal grandmother died over 30 years ago. I still miss her all the time.
I still love her. I still think about her.
I also accept that she's gone and I will never see her again. Never.
That's how life works. We are all going to die eventually. It's inevitable.
No point in getting all twisted about it.

Welcome to the asylum. Enjoy your stay.

To anyone reading this. If you like it, please feel free to copy it, including my name.

THE END OF SENTIENCE.

The day I die, my sentience stops.
Please keep in mind, though sighing,
The act of life, of birth and being,
Includes the act of dying.

To me there is no after-life:
All sentience ends that day.
And once one dies, that’s it. One’s dead!
I won’t know if you pray.

So:-
No platitudes, no priests, no tales
Of life in the everlasting.
Remember me for who I was.
And gently regret my passing.

We all must die; yet we live on.
Though neither in heaven nor hell:
But through genes, passed on, and on again,
Down time’s eternal swell.

And also through deeds. The consequence
Of what we do on Earth
Can affect the lives of thousands
Who have yet to discover birth.

So judge not a life by piety,
But by things for which it stood.
Not from pious fear of a mighty God,
But from belief in the might of good.

Petter Finne