Agnostic.com

28 0

Is Buddhism a religion?

I’ve seen people claim “no, it’s just a philosophy.” I think it’s clearly not theistic, but there are sects that definitely believe in “spooky” forms of karma or reincarnation.

• 20 votes
  • 16 votes
  • 7 votes
DominicShaull 5 Apr 8

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

28 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I studied Buddhism formally with a Guru who claimed it was a practice not a religion, You can be a Catholic Buddhist or an atheist Buddhist... Just like you can be a gnostic atheist or an agnostic atheist. I still work with meditation, I find it usuful, I’m not praying, there is no god and it’s effects are scientifically testable. I consider myself to be an, Almost Buddhist, vegan, atheist, coffee drinking guitarist . Of these the coffee is the one most like a religion, or is it a practice?

@MrLizard one of things this Guru would say regularly was, “If science finds Buddhism to be wrong it is Buddhism that much change“

Coffee is totally a religion. The coffee bean is God who sacrifices itself for us . IT comes down off the tree, is dried & is roasted by fire. Then IT is ground & by mixing & brewing we the take holy coffee communion by which we start our days, end our nights, drown our sorrows, celebrate with family & friend, etc. (Don't get me started on the deep & abiding faith of the dark chocolate covered expresso bean, all hail.)