Agnostic.com

3 4

LINK I'm a local ICU doctor. Please take precautions, COVID-19 is going to hit our hospitals hard | Nebraska Medicine Omaha, NE

By Daniel W. Johnson, MD, critical care anesthesiologist
Published August 24, 2021

This is a personal social media post written by Nebraska Medicine critical care anesthesiologist Daniel W. Johnson, MD. It is shared with permission from Dr. Johnson.

If you are considering getting vaccinated for COVID-19, please do so immediately. Our region has the potential to look exactly like Florida, Alabama and Mississippi over the next several weeks. In the southern U.S., many hospitals and ICUs are full and lack adequate nursing resources. Some non-COVID-19 patients are being transported more than 1,000 miles to ICUs that are under less strain. Many individuals and families are suffering because of COVID-19 deaths that could have been prevented by vaccination.

The delta variant is different from the early strain. It is at least twice as transmissible.

At the beginning of the pandemic, the average age of a COVID-19 patient admitted to our hospital was 72. Over the last few weeks, the average age has been 49. In Nebraska, 88% of hospitalized COVID-19 patients are unvaccinated.

On June 27, Nebraska had 27 COVID-19 patients in the hospital, and nine in the ICU
As of Aug. 24, Nebraska has 313 COVID-19 patients in the hospital and 95 in the ICU
That's more than a 10-fold increase in eight weeks.

These numbers continue to grow swiftly as delta spreads through the state. Please see the graph below. It's showing the number of COVID-19 hospitalizations in Omaha metro hospitals.

A graph showing a dramatic increase in COVID-19 patients in Metro Omaha Hospitals and on ventilators.