Agnostic.com

20 3

What do you do when you are EXPECTED to follow Christian beliefs?

For example during Xmas and Easter, my family expects me to pray before eating. I don't want to, but when company is around I just pretend to bow and pray. But, really I am lowering my head in shame for being a hypocrite. Another thing is during the Winter Solstice I always say "Happy Holidays". In addition to working full-time as a mechanic, I also took inbound orders for a company to make some extra Holiday cash. I was always polite, and would wish them Happy Holidays. After placing an order once a lady insisted that I wish her "Merry Christmas". I was hourly + commission. Just wanted to get off the phone so I could take the next order! So I did. I wanted to say something, but I'd probably get written up, or fired (legally they can't due to religious beliefs). Keep in mind these are people I don't know, and will never meet. What am I supposed to say? "Happy I-Have-No-Idea-What-Religion-You-Are and have a good one"? It is flustrating to be almost forced into obeying by their rituals.

TheGreatShadow 9 May 30

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

20 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I refuse to debase myself for someone else delusions. I attended a lengthy conference at Pepperdine University, and after every session it was 'hold hands in a big circle and pray', I simply excused myself from the room. If I find myself caught at a dinner table I will simply observe a 'moment of silence (that is I say nothing) and I don't bow my head or pretend to believe something I don't. Period.

Be a good guest and a good host, respectful silence at their house, no prayers at mine but if you keep it to yourself I won't mention it. Criticism and attempts to convert me will be met with same.