Agnostic.com

20 4

Staying together for the kids 2.0

I previously posted a question about staying together for the kids. I got a lot of great feedback but I thought I’d make a poll. I’m not tech savvy, so if there isn’t a good option for you to clarify your answer here feel free to comment on my first question. Thank you!

• 1 vote
  • 5 votes
  • 2 votes
  • 42 votes
  • 4 votes
Lilie 6 Jan 13

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

20 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

My 10 yr. old is still sad about the divorce. Of course he won't be 10 forever. He will come to an understanding. Right? My other son is pretty much simply angry at me. (It was all my fault?? Who knew!) We're working through it . For me & her....we could have tried harder, at least for the kids' sake. And then divorced when we reached the next point of no return

For me , I am saddend by the personal loss and when I see my son sad. I am also liberated from a ton of bullshit

twill Level 7 Mar 21, 2018

I think staying in a marriage just for the kids' sake could potentially be even more damaging than a divorce. Every situation is different but when a couple has tried to make it work with counseling and there is still a toxic or abusive atmosphere then it's time to make a change. Kids would rather be around happy parents than fighting or non-communicative parents. When my partner and I decided to divorce our relationship actually improved dramatically and we are committed to being good co-parents. Our daughter is happier as well.

I agree! It’s difficult not to have my son with me ALL the time, but my ex and I are really close and we are making it work.

My divorce was the best thing I ever did for my son and myself.