Agnostic.com

74 5

Did the Bible make you an Atheist?

The more I studied the Bible, the more I thought it was bunk. I was astounded by the number of contradictions. Anyone else?

tdtallent77 4 Oct 9

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

74 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Partially. It was super hypocritical and I kept poking holes in it all growinf up at church. I have a gay brother and I think thats what fully sent me over the edge. I couldn’t believe that god who apparently “created us” and knew our entire lives and choices ahead of time would then condemn his children to hell WHEN HE MADE US THAT WAY AND KNEW WE WOULD BE A CERTAIN WAY. I also hated how people often picked which oarts of the bible to listen to and ignored others. Condemn gay people but eat lobster and pork just fine and get divorced with no consequences.

My mother died suddenly I tried to find comfort in faith, I read the bible. Got to the end and thought wow, that is a lot of hooey. So i read other doctrines and sacred writings of other religions, came out the other side a solid atheist. I had always only really half believed and assumed that if I ever took the time to read the bible I'd truly believe, and wow did that go the other way.

Not really. It was mostly the hypocrisy of the congregation. When I was around 14 I realized my own hypocrisy. I didnt actually believe the bullshit. So I stopped going.

Della Level 6 Oct 9, 2018

nope. first of all, most people here mean the christian bible when they say bible, and i was never a christian, but as a secular jew, bible-reading just wasn't on my agenda. some deliberate thinking and consideration brought me to the realization that there were no gods.

g

Yes--once you start reading it, it just makes no sense & God turns out to be a huge jerk.