Agnostic.com

24 7

Any tips on how to not feel so weird about using dating sites/apps?

I think for me, some of the awkward feeling stems from never being in anything close to a relationship and my lack of confidence. I joined this site a long time ago and only used the dating feature temporarily because it just felt so odd. I'm trying to get out of my comfort zone but it's just so weird...

MusicMnstr99 6 Apr 19

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

24 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I have been using dating websites on-and-off since 2008. Have met over 100 guys. Remember:

1. Nothing is real until you meet. Keep your expectations low. I refuse to get all twittypated over a man before meeting.

2. Insist on a telephone conversation before meeting.

3. Meet for lunch at a safe cafe' or restaurant. Sit in an "L" position at the table. Face-to-face can feel too intense like a job interview.

4. After lunch if things go well, invite him/her to go for a walk. Preferably in a park or along a river. It's easy to talk while you're enjoying nature.

5. Research shows with online dating, 80% of people post old photos and lie about their age, weight, height, profession, marital status and more.

6. SAFETY FIRST. Never get into a strange man's car. Drive yourself. Don't get drunk. Arrive early and notify a wait person that you are meeting a strange man. Ask if someone can walk you to your car if things go south. Daylight is safer. That's why I meet for lunch.

Excellent tips! I still haven't been in a relationship from online dating but I keep trying. Women have it easy because their inbox flows 10 to 1. Lol. The nature of it all I suppose.

@MrChange Most inboxes flow better when the outbox is also used.

@MrChange