Agnostic.com

34 9

Your thoughts on loud music in a restaurant?

The wife and I went into a restaurant the other day and they had loud music playing. We asked them to please turn it down and they told us they couldn't, so we walked out. When I go out to eat I don't mind soft music in the background, but when you can't hear each other talk, we leave if they won't turn it down. I don't understand why it's up so loud.

ebdb 7 Apr 27

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

34 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I would just leave and go elsewhere!! 🙂

No way enjoyable. Most people I have ever met chat during meal times.

I'm a musician and I don't like loud music in general. I really enjoy the drive home after gigs due to the quiet. I don't understand the seeming need to raise volume levels to such an extant that it damages your hearing. And for those wondering, I do mostly acoustic jobs, generally in big bands. I'm a saxophonist who doubles on flute and clarinet.

It's annoying, I just want to enjoy my meal and have a conversation with the person or people I am with

I don't have any thoughts if the music's too loud, i can't hear myself think

Hate it and I ask them to turn it down too. I want to be able to talk not scream

hate loud music in public

I avoid restaurants (and shops) that play loud "music". I want nourishment not punishment.

Athos Level 5 Apr 27, 2018

I would have walked out, too.

Only after somewhere around 8 pm and even then only if it is a place that has a bar and even then live entertainment is preferable more engaging. (And also, they take breaks.)