Agnostic.com

50 7

Too Much Information

How do you handle it when a person goes into uncomfortable and unsolicited details about their personal life or health?

Donotbelieve 9 June 1

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

50 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm a social worker, so this happens all the time as a job hazard. When they bring up health crap, I jump in quickly with much concern in my voice, tell them I have no medical knowledge, and ask if they're seeing a doctor and getting it taken care of. If they say yes, I end their train of thought by telling them how relieved I am that it's being handled, and quickly change subject. For other topics they seem to need to vent about, I focus on my breathing and meditate a bit so as not to get sucked in, then find a way to jump in and refocus when I can.

Try looking them in the face and saying "I'm really sorry to interupt but I'm having a really heavy period, my head aches, my piles are playing me up giving me a massive pain in the arse and so I can't really pay attention to your inane twaddle, so excuse me while I go change my jam rag"
Smile sweetly and walk away.

All i can think of now is ...."one time at band camp ....."

I try to hold back but people have been so supportive here. Why we have Groups. I created a cancer group for those who need support, need to vent and bear their souls.

Difficult - I generally make faces when the details start to get too personal, then at the first opportunity I say something like - "Didn't need to know that." or " TMI Dude, TMI."
It will depend on, of course, who it is that's sharing, but some appropriately phrase of "Too Much" along with some awkward and uneasy looks has done the trick for me.