Agnostic.com

33 5

Have you ever had a mystical or near death experience?

Some people say such experiences gave them tremendously expanded perceptions & awareness.

If you have had such an experience, do you feel you became aware of anything real, or was it just an altered brain state, like taking LSD

Remiforce 7 Sep 19

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

33 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

As a younger man I studied many things and actually did out of body travel. For the most part it is a mental state. Even so, we had company once that was told as we went to bed to turn off the stereo power supply when they retired for the night. The next day at breakfast I told them they did not do this and also told them just where everyone slept. I then went to the stereo and turned off the power supply.

I think astral travel happens. It is a state of consciousness our science is only beginning to understand

No NDEs but 3 or 4 “altered states of awareness” (without drugs) that I could easily describe as mystical if I wanted to, but I don’t. I think it’s just brain chemistry.

skado Level 9 Sep 19, 2019

It doesn't matter what you call them. The experience is the thing, not the name.It sounds like you had heightened awareness

Every day is a "near death" experience.
Nothing mystical about it.

What do you mean by that? Do you have a dangerous job or something?

@Remiforce It's got nothing to do with a job. It's about accepting that
life is finite. Not dwelling on it, but just accepting it, and not living in denial,
or fearing death.

Every single day holds the potential for being your last.
It's not mystical, it's not anything but reality.
Eating, drinking, etc. Everything we do during the course of a day could
conceivably take a turn, and we could die.