Agnostic.com

15 13

The Indian Government is considering going back to putting flesh-eating turtles in the Ganges, because decomposing corpses keep surfacing and the overall pollution is unbelievable. See the kind of crap religion gets you into ?

TO_BY 7 Sep 10

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

15 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I have been hearing how contaminated the Ganges is for about 60 years now...world's largest latrine,

India will probably in the end have the highest number of Covid-19 deaths because of poor nutrition and a high population density.

So instead of dead bodies, the Ganges will now be full of turtle shit consisting of digested dead bodies. That does not strike me as a tremendous leap forward, but I guess it beats seeing half-decomposed uncle Bose bobbing to the surface. RME

How about some piranahs.

The flies will not be happy, but they can’t vote so...

In the mid-70s, I met a guy who had just motorcycled from India to Europe on his way back to Norway (man, he had some stories) and when he was in Delhi, he told me they were building a huge office building, sq. block size, multi-storied. Hundreds of workers were scurring around and performing tons of tasks that would have been mechanized in the West (such as using ropes and pullies to pull large things up). On one side was where hopeful job applicants lined up. It was 100 plus degrees. Small boys did walk through selling cups of water, but he told me, it was obviously not enough. The other side was where the bodies were taken of men who had died of heat stroke. He watched as three bodies out of the approximately 1000 laborers were brought out and wrapped up. He could not believe his eyes. That story of India always stuck with me.